fbpx

How To Delete Entire Content In Vi Editor

There is no need to rush

When editing large files or documents, it can be helpful to have an easy way to delete all of the content in the editor. There are several ways to do this, but one of the most popular is to use the vi mode for your text editor.

Using vi mode allows you to create new lines by hitting the shift key followed by a number, then pressing enter. To remove everything from the current position forward, press the backspace key twice.

Run command :wq or press enter to save and quit

In addition to saving files, you can also delete all content within an editor by running the command: ıs wq (without the quotation marks). This will ask you if you want to really delete everything before it does!

The -e flag is for editing modes so this works perfectly fine. Simply type out “-ies” without the quotations and press enter to execute.

This way, you do not have to worry about leaving anything behind or losing any unsaved work due to file corruption. It is best to know how to use the vi text editor so if you are ever stuck, you have access to the help section which includes learning how to use it.

Use quick fix button located next to address bar

Another way to remove content or add content is by using the quick fix option available at your vi editor’s start-up. This tool allows you to perform simple edits such as changing an existing word or adding a new one.

By hitting the ‘quick fix’ feature, you can also delete whole lines of text or insert new ones.

To use this feature, hold down the shift key while editing and then press enter. Then, choose either to replace current content with nothing (no space) or type in a new phrase or sentence.

Right click and select delete content

When you are doing editing in the vi or vim editor, there is an easy way to remove all of the text in the document. You can right-click anywhere inside the file and then choose either delete contents or delete current line. The difference is that when you choose the second option, it will also remove the special comment characters at the beginning of the file!

This doesn’t usually matter unless you are very careful with your comments at the start of the file, but it is good to be aware of anyway.

Select everything with mouse using ctrl + h or k

When you are ready to delete all content, use the keyboard option of selecting every word or line. The easiest way to do this is by holding down Ctrl and either A for select all words, or K for select all lines.

Then press enter or esc to exit out of the selection mode and remove the content!

Note: Make sure to have a backup first before doing this as important files can be lost when deleting content this way.

Open notepad, remove contents of text file

There are many ways to delete content from within your editor. Some people may refer to this as deleting lines or words, but we will be talking about removing an entire section here!

There are several easy ways to do this. The most straightforward way is to simply open up Notepad (or any other writing software) and just start typing until you find what you want to get rid of and then hit enter or tab to carry on.

You can also use keyboard shortcuts in your favourite editing program. For example, in Vim there is a command called dawg which removes all spaces. To learn more about editors, how to use them and their features, check out our article: What Is An Editorial Tool And Why Should You Use It?

This article will show you one simple way to completely erase some pre-existing content in the VIM editor.

In some cases it may be difficult to completely erase something that you have written down

This can occur when someone else edits your work or another person copies and pastes all of your material.
or maybe you just accidentally edit one part of an article and save before copying your whole draft, making only parts obsolete.

In either case, what you can do is simply start over! You can lose nothing by doing so as long as you are willing to rewrite or reword the content.

Create backup copies of files

It is important to remember that deleting an article or file will not only delete it from the source website, but also from your device where you saved it as a backup.

As we have seen before, when editing content within the browser-based version of Wikipedia, there is an option to remove the whole article or page. But what if you want to do this with another article?

There are two ways to go about doing this. The first way is by using the mobile app which allows you to add notes or comments to articles while reading, then go back and edit them later. If you need to completely remove an article, you can tap “More” next to it and choose either "Keep as note" or "Delete".

The second way is to use the vertical mode feature of the software. This allows you to create new pages or sections directly beneath an existing one, making it easy to move or copy pieces of content. To fully purge an old article, simply drag it up into the space marked for “New section” or "New page.

Switch to another editor temporarily until deletion is complete

When you want to delete an entire word, sentence, or paragraph of content, you will have to switch your editing software up first!

Most text editors offer some kind of undo feature that allows you to go back one step changes. This can be very helpful when you make large edits because you may accidentally drop a long term idea or insert something wrong.

With most editors, there is also usually an option to save all files as well as exit out without saving. These are both great resources if you need to get rid of the file completely!

Many times, people new to the vi editor style use this feature to quickly remove a paragraph or whole article. However, it is important to know what happens to these saved documents after deleting them.

About The Author

Juice Staff Writer
Juice is a web app that harnesses the power of AI to generate awesome SEO-friendly content right on your website or e-commerce store. This powerful yet simple tool that enables you to easily and quickly generate content focused on your niche topic.
Juice Beta is ending July 1st! Subscribe before end of month to lock in Juice Plus for 50% off!
$49 $25
Sign up now
Juice Beta is ending soon! Subscribe now to lock in Juice Plus for $49 $25
Sign up now
cross