fbpx

How To Delete Whole Content In Vi Editor

When editing large documents or files, it can become tedious to keep re-inserting content that you deleted earlier. This is especially true for users who use the vim text editor program as their main tool.

By now, most people have heard of Vim, but many do not know how to perform advanced functions with it. One such function is called “whole word” or “word deleting.” It is very common to want to delete a whole word (or even a few words) from within an article or sentence.

There are two ways to do this using the built-in tools in Vim. Both require copying the content before removing the unwanted parts, so make sure to include enough room for this in your document!

This article will teach you one method to accomplish this trick every time.

Confirm your intent to delete the file

Before you actually perform the deletion, make sure that you have given proper thought to what you will do after!
As mentioned before, empty files use up space so it is important to clear out whatever content or information you no longer need.

If you are simply changing the theme of your site, then there is not much reason to keep those files. You can easily remove them and add new ones without any problems.

By using tools such as XSitePro, you can identify all of the unused plugins and themes within your WordPress installation.

These apps can be used to completely uninstall each item, which helps to prevent clutter.

Another way to determine if an old plugin/theme is still needed is by looking at the settings for the product. Some settings may remain unique to the current version, but none should be present anymore.

Back up your data, just in case

Even though you’re only deleting one file or one word, it is still important to back up all of your files before changing anything.

This will prevent you from losing any of your work because something may go wrong when editing the content or file.

You can back up your files using an app like Dropbox or Google Drive that allows you to access them anywhere there is internet connection.

Quit vi and restart it

When you are finished editing, you can close or quit vi! To do this, you just need to use the key combination of Esc followed by either q or Enter.

If you choose Exit, vi will ask you if you want to save your work first (which is always good practice). Then it will close and then reopen so that you can start working again.

That’s all there is to deleting content in the Vi editor! Hopefully you now know how to make some serious changes using this tool. Happy changing!

Vi was one of the most popular text editors out there before Microsoft added their own visual interface to Windows. Since its creation back in 1976, it has been around and active. You can learn more about what makes Vi special here.

Perform deletion using the command line

There are several ways to perform content removal within your editor. Some of these include copying the content, replacing it with an empty string or setting it as deleted, and then actually removing the folder that contains all of the files.

The easiest way to do this is by performing a whole word or partial delete via the console!

Using the Windows or Linux Command Line Interface (CLI) you can easily access the settings menu through Ctrl+Alt+T or Google “open command prompt window”. This allows you to navigate through different menus very quickly and efficiently!

There is no need to use other methods like copy/paste or deleting individual files because there is an easy fix for both.

Use another editor that is not hard to use

There are many excellent editors out there that are easy to use, which means you do not need to spend hours trying to figure them out. You can easily transfer your writing into other apps at any time!

Some examples of this include Microsoft Word or Google Docs. Both of these applications have an advanced feature that allows you to delete all content within the document completely. This includes deleting headers and footers as well as deletion of whole sections and paragraphs.

These features make it very easy to get rid of unwanted content that no longer fits. What if there was an easier way?

There is!

You can now quickly and effortlessly remove all content from the current document without having to switch software. All you have to do is open up your favorite text editing app (like Adobe Photoshop) and search for “vanishing point.” The tool will automatically erase everything in the picture while leaving the rest untouched.

Create a new folder and store files there instead of deleting them

If you are having trouble removing an entire content or file, then do not worry! There is another way to handle this. You can simply create a new folder and save your files there.

You can easily access the settings via the Settings tab within Viber. Here, you have options to change your profile picture, set up reminders, turn off chat history, and more.

To remove all conversations and messages, go into Messages under Privacy and disable All chats. To completely erase your account, choose Get rid of my account from here.

Learn to be more careful with your data

Sometimes, you need to get rid of all of your content quickly without saving anything first. This is not always due to a computer crash or someone deleting your account but instead because you simply do not have any content anymore!

In that case, there are some easy ways to completely remove everything from an article, a folder, or even the whole website. You can also easily restore what you accidentally deleted if you save it somewhere else first.

This article will show you how to do this for both the Microsoft Word and Google Docs editors as well as the More popularly used plain text editor- Thevi. These apps each contain a rich feature set so do not worry about wasting time on things that may not be needed.

Word and Google docs allow you to perform these actions via their Settings area which we will look at later. For the vi editor, however, you must know how to use the command line interface (CLI) to accomplish the same thing.

Consider restoring from a backup if possible

While going through your hard drive, you will run into a situation where you need to completely delete a file or files. You may have accidentally deleted an important document or image, or maybe you just did not like one of their most recent updates so you decided to uninstall it.

In that case, you will want to get rid of all traces of that app or product forever!

Fortunately, there are several ways to do this! If you have a backup, then you can restore from that. Or, you can use various free tools designed for deleting files and objects out of your computer.

If you’re looking to totally erase something from your device, we have some helpful information for you here! Read on to learn how to easily remove any content using your browser’s built-in editor.

About The Author

Juice Staff Writer
Juice is a web app that harnesses the power of AI to generate awesome SEO-friendly content right on your website or e-commerce store. This powerful yet simple tool that enables you to easily and quickly generate content focused on your niche topic.
Juice Beta is ending July 1st! Subscribe before end of month to lock in Juice Plus for 50% off!
$49 $25
Sign up now
Juice Beta is ending soon! Subscribe now to lock in Juice Plus for $49 $25
Sign up now
cross